Welcome to the London Life Collection
📚 Roehampton University is situated in one of the world's greatest cities. There's an amazing cultural, social, and intellectual life just waiting for students to explore.
📚 Our London Life collection provides resources including London guide books, London-based novels, and books on London's history, art, and culture to help new students start exploring the city.
London Themed eBooks
Access Newspapers & Magazines On PressReader 📰
Download the PressReader App here.
PressReader provides online access to 7,000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. This includes London themed publications such as TimeOut and The London Magazine.
These are free of charge with your Roehampton login.
Access Note: To log in, click Sign In > Library or Group > find University of Roehampton > Sign In via OpenAthens.
The British Museum
Tune in to the British Museum Podcast or listen on Spotify 🎧
Delves into every aspect of the Museum, from archives to Egyptian black goo, from conservation to Doctor Who, in Bloomsbury and beyond.
Check Out The Hans Sloane Special:
Learn The History Of Ice Cream:
Being Human
Free Permanent Exhibition
Being Human explores what it means to be human in the 21st century. It reflects our hopes and fears about new forms of medical knowledge, and our changing relationships with ourselves, each other and the world.
Featuring 50 artworks and objects, the gallery is divided into four sections: Genetics, Minds & Bodies, Infection, and Environmental Breakdown.
Visitor Information
▭ Free admission
⏱︎ Galleries open Tuesday - Sunday, Opening Times
⚲ Being Human gallery, level 1
♿︎ Step-free access is available to all floors of the building
1. Virtual Museum tours with Google Street View
Did you know that the Museum is the world's largest indoor space on Google Street View? You can go on a virtual visit to more than 60 galleries – perfect for creating your own bespoke tour around your favourites.
Drop into the Egyptian Sculpture Gallery
2. Keep exploring with virtual galleries
The British Museum also offers virtual galleries on their own website. You can explore our extensive Prints and Drawings collection to see Old Masters such as Dürer and Michelangelo or see new and exciting contemporary pieces.
3. Eight million objects at your fingertips
The collection is available to everyone on Collection online. You can search for objects and images using keywords, or try filtering by place, artist or material if you're feeling more expert.
Browse the blog
Find your footing in the ancient world with Who was Achilles? Or get lost in amazing Museum stories, like our recent piece about the beautiful and surreal constituent parts of dust in the Museum.
The blog is updated regularly and includes pieces from both guest and Museum voices.
Amaravati stupa, limestone, India, AD 50–100.
Exhibition Catalogues
Explore London's museum scene with Roehampton library!
📚 Browse our Museum and Gallery Exhibition Catalogues resource list to explore the full collection.
🏛️ Our vast collection has exhibition catalogues from top London museums, including The British Museum, Imperial War Museum, V&A... and many more!
🎨 Your next art and culture adventure starts here!