Finding Images - CC0, Attribution Free, Royalty Free
If you are looking for images to use for an assignment or presentation, there are two important things to consider.
- Do I know who owns the copyright?
- Is there enough information for me to reference the source, if I need to reference it?
Use of images may be allowed for educational purposes, but for content shared outside of the classroom or with the wider public, then you should not use copyrighted images.
For content that will be publicly available, you should ensure that you use images that are royalty free, copyright free, attribution free or have been designated a Creative Common - CC0 License. Images found on Google may not necessarily be free from copyright, and infringing copyright can lead to substantial financial penalties.
- Fair Use of Copyright Explanation of the the Fair Use of Copyright provided by the British Library
Free to use online image collections
- Burst from ShopifyRoyalty free high resolution images.
- MorguefileAll images are available under CC0 licenses; no attribution is required.
- NappyWebsite with copyright free photos - the objective of this site in their own words is "to improve representation of black and brown people in media."
- PexelsAttribution and royalty free stock photos.
- PixabayAll the images on Pixabay can be used anywhere, without attribution. However, depicted content may still be protected by trademarks, publicity or privacy rights. Some sponsored content is returned with search results.
- UnsplashRoyalty free high resolution photos.
- New York Met MuseumThe Met collection are available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). Over 375,000 images of artworks from our collection are available for you to use, share, and remix—without restriction.
The website listed below does require attribution, but it has been included as it is a great source to use for broadening representation.
- The Gender Spectrum Collection.The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models. These photos can be used under CC BY-NC-ND license. Please read the guidelines.
Finding Images - Library Content
Artstor
The Library also subscribes to Artstor, this image collection can be used for noncommercial and education purposes, more information available in the ArtStor copyright guide below.
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to curated high quality images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. It contains 300 collections composed of over 2 million images.
Working with Images - Useful Tools
There are many free to use tools online there that can help you to create great presentations. We have listed some of these below.
Please bear in mind the Library does not provide support for these tools, and as they are free, the conditions of use may be subject to change.
- CanvaOnline tool for creating posters and presentations, includes professional looking templates, images and icons. There is a basic version that is free to use.
- PiktochartOnline tool for creating presentations and infographics. There is a basic version that is free to use.
- PhotofuniaFun image editing website. Put your photo into a billboard poster, or your text into a movie marquee.
- Break Your Own NewsWebsite for generating your own 'breaking news' image and headlines.
Finding the source of an image
- TinEye - Reverse Image SearchIf you do come across an image via Google that you feel it important for you to use. You can use TinEye to see if you can find the original source for referencing purposes.