Key Journals
Journal Collections
Search these specialist indexes of academic literature to find articles and research papers for your assignments.
Allied Health and Medical databases
-
AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine This link opens in a new window
Topics include: Holistic treatment, Meditation, Occupational therapy, Osteopathy, Palliative care, Physiotherapy, Psychotherapy, Rehabilitation. Some articles available as Full-Text via ‘Check UR Library for full-text’ or PDF links.
-
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and physiotherapy. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.
-
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is designed to supply high quality evidence to inform health care decision-making.
-
Medline (Web of Science platform) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.
-
PubMed (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.
Education and Special Education databases
-
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Index to British journals, theses and conferences in the field of Education.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
-
ERIC (Education Research Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, theses and conferences on education, mostly published in the USA but with good UK and international coverage.
Linguistics and Phonetics
-
Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles on theoretical and applied linguistics; coverage starts from 1973.
Psychology databases
-
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children up to the age of 21.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index of over 1.5 million journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations in all aspects of psychology from 1887 to the present.
Anatomy & Physiology
-
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Video version of Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, with 230 videos, plus clinical reasoning content. The QR code for the app version is available once you have logged in.
-
Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D human anatomy visualisation tool containing: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. A mobile App version is also available. First time users will need to set up a personal account (free).
-
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
Sport, physical activity and dance eBooks, also includes a suite of instructional videos, images and audio clips.