Resources
Databases are large, searchable collections of academic materials. Many provide access to full-text journal articles, whilst others provide article abstracts/citations or other types of information. Databases are useful because they provide access to high-quality, authoritive and up-to-date research in your subject area.
To access Roehampton’s online databases you will be required to authenticate access with your Roehampton username and password. If need help logging in please see here.
It is always best to use the database links provided in this guide rather than searching for databases on the Internet, as the links in this guide will direct you straight to the University of Roehampton's login page where you can enter your Roehampton username and password to enter the database.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content includes: accounting, finance & economics, business, management, education, health & social care, HR, marketing, public policy. Note: after logging in with your Roehampton credentials, you will be logged in correctly even if the platform doesn't indicate this.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 500 full text journals covering arts, social sciences (especially media studies), humanities and life sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scientific, technical and medical journals from the publisher Elsevier. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database, so some items may be unavailable.
Physical copies of textbooks for your module readings will be made available via your institution's library. Some titles may be available in ebook format too and available via Proquest Ebook Central, an ebook collection that contains books in many different disciplines. To access Proquest Ebook Central please use the link below.
To access Roehampton’s ebooks you will be required to authenticate access. Almost all of our resources use a system called OpenAthens to enable you to login.
If you experience any problems accessing the online databases or ebooks please refer to the 'Access instructions for databases and ebooks' pdf below.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of ebooks in all subject areas.
- Cite Them RightCite them right is a comprehensive guide to referencing almost anything you will come across in the course of your studies or research.
Referencing Styles
Online reference generators such as Mendeley, Zotero, etc. will also contain a different version of Harvard, so please be aware. If you are unsure which referencing style to use please check with your tutors.
- EThOS - The British Library's online repository of doctoral dissertationsSearch over 480,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalFree access to nearly 800,000 open access research theses from 615 universities in 28 European countries.
- EBSCO Open DissertationsMore than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from 26 US universities as well as UK doctoral theses from the British Library.
- UK Parliament Research BriefingsThis page provides access to research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology.
- Office for National StatisticsThe UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
- Eurostat - your key to European statisticsEurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
If you need help logging in
If you find you cannot log into a resource please follow the advice below before seeking help.
If you reach the following login screen, please enter your Roehampton username in the format 'bloggsj' (your username without the @roehampton.ac.uk)
If you reach the following login screen, please enter your Roehampton username in the format 'bloggsj@roehampton.ac.uk' (your full university username)
If you find either of the two following messages, please contact your institution:
A final thing to try before seeking help would be to try and clear your browser cache. If none of the above is working, then please contact your institution for support.