Resources
Databases are large, searchable collections of academic materials. Many provide access to full-text journal articles, whilst others provide article abstracts/citations or other types of information. Databases are useful because they provide access to high-quality, authoritative and up-to-date research in your subject area.
To access Roehampton’s online databases you will be required to authenticate access with your Roehampton username and password. If you need help logging in please see here.
It is always best to use the database links provided in this guide rather than searching for databases on the Internet, as the links in this guide will direct you straight to the University of Roehampton's login page where you can enter your Roehampton username and password to enter the database.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO)This link will enable you to access the Business Source Premier database through EBSCO.
- Economist This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
British weekly magazine of news and opinion, covering world politics, economics, business, finance, science and technology.
Users will need to create an account to gain access - to do this click 'login' at the top of the page, select ‘register now’ and fill in the form.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes: accounting, finance & economics, business, management, education, health & social care, HR, marketing, public policy. Note: after logging in with your Roehampton credentials, you will be logged in correctly even if the platform doesn't indicate this.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Daily news focusing on international business and economics. Also includes company and market data and the FT Digital Edition, a replica of the printed newspaper from different countries. You will need to register for an account using your Roehampton email to gain access (see Additional Info for instructions).
- Marketing Week This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Marketing Week offers the latest marketing news, opinion, trends, jobs and challenges facing the marketing industry. Note: You will need to sign up for a personal account using your full Roehampton university email. To set up your account, click ‘register’ and fill out the form to complete your account set up.
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
Global market research reports published in the last two years for leading industries including: Business Finance, Technology, Media, Health and Wellbeing, Food and Drink, Beauty and Personal Care, Automotive, Retail Banking.
- Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel Market Sizes provides global market data such as market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation. It covers a number of industries such as: automotive, clothing, energy, finance, media and pharmaceuticals.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access UK & International newspapers and magazines via the PressReader App. Note: To log in, click Sign In (top of the screen) > Library or Group > find University of Roehampton > Sign In via OpenAthens. Read our Spotlight on Using PressReader and PressReader for Wellbeing blog post.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scientific, technical and medical journals from the publisher Elsevier. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database, so some items may be unavailable.
- Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals covering the sciences, social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources (including over 1500 journals published by Wiley) covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers international business, strategic management, financial and managerial accounting, corporate communications, human resource management, and organisational behaviour.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large collection of ebooks in all subject areas.
- Sage Catalyst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to over 700 premium social science eTextbooks, including nearly 100 titles on research methods and study skills.
Cite Them Right
- Cite Them RightCite them right is a comprehensive guide to referencing almost anything you will come across in the course of your studies or research.
- EThOS - The British Library's online repository of doctoral dissertationsSearch over 480,000 doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalFree access to nearly 800,000 open access research theses from 615 universities in 28 European countries.
- EBSCO Open DissertationsMore than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from 26 US universities as well as UK doctoral theses from the British Library.
- UK Parliament Research BriefingsThis page provides access to research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology.
- Office for National StatisticsThe UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
- Eurostat - your key to European statisticsEurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
If you need help logging in
If you find you cannot log into a resource please follow the advice below before seeking help.
If you reach the following login screen, please enter your Roehampton username in the format 'bloggsj' (your username without the @roehampton.ac.uk)
If you reach the following login screen, please enter your Roehampton username in the format 'bloggsj@roehampton.ac.uk' (your full university username)
If you find either of the two following messages, please contact your institution:
A final thing to try before seeking help would be to try and clear your browser cache. If none of the above is working, then please contact your institution for support.