Key Journals
Essential Resources
Those most relevant to Sport and Exercise Sciences are:
- SportDiscus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to over 400 sport-related journals.
- PEDro: the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
An open access database from the University of Sydney, providing an index to randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines.
- AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of content from books, academic journals and newspapers relating to allied health and complementary (or “alternative”) medicine. Coverage is international and includes nursing, physiotherapy, speech & language, occupational and sports therapy.
You also have access to a range of more general life and health science databases, including:
- Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, academics, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. The articles capture the current understanding of a topic. This includes what is current and controversial, questions remaining, direction of future research and application to society.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts, Reports, Reviews, Meetings
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of leading nursing and allied health literature. Topics include: nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and allied health disciplines such as physiotherapy.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases providing up-to-date, high-quality, independent evidence (such as systematic reviews) to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is designed to supply high quality evidence to inform health care decision-making.
- Medline (Web of Science platform) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.
- Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premium nursing and allied health database, ideal for practice, research, or education, with millions of records including full text eBooks and journals.
- PubMed (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 2500 scientific, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals from the publisher Elsevier.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources (including over 1500 journals published by Wiley) covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Web Of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database comprising Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities citation indexes.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3D human anatomy visualisation tool containing: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. Available both as a desktop version and an App. First time users will need to set up a personal account (free).
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this video platform has over 230 videos covering head-to-toe physical examination techniques and clinical reasoning content for skills-based assesments.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).
- Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sport, physical activity and dance eBooks, also includes a suite of instructional videos, images and audio clips.
- Counselling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream current video content in the contemporary fields of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling.
- ROB (Roehampton Online Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.