Search these databases for up to date academic research papers in your topic.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive social sciences database which provides an index to books, journals, newspapers and dissertations dating back to 1951.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary academic literature database.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 500 full text journals covering arts, social sciences (especially media studies), humanities and life sciences.
- Springer Journals Compact Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2,500 journals; full text coverage dates back to 1997. Problems logging in off campus? See our tutorial.
NOTE: We do not subscribe to all the content in this database. To see only content you can access, un-tick the option “Include Preview-Only content”. - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Global Social TheoryExcellent introductions to core concepts, thinkers, and topics in Global Social Theory from academics at Sussex, Leicester, Sheffield and Birkbeck.
- PEP-Web This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of many of the major works of psychoanalysis, including the complete works of Sigmund Freud and complete versions of other classic texts. Spotlight on PEP-Web blog post.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals and eBooks in arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the eBook content in this database. You can filter your results by Access on the left hand menu and selecting “content I can access.”
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Academic literature in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database. You can filter your results by selecting the Access option “Only content I have access to.” See our Spotlight on Project Muse.
Data services:
- UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
Data banks from the major statistical publications produced by such as the World Bank, the IMF, OECD and the United Nations.
- UK Data Service: Census Support This link opens in a new window
UK Census Data from 1971, this site provides links to the relevant datasets (registration required).
The Library holds a legacy collection of music CDs and film DVDs in the Audiovisual Collection on the Third Floor.
However, most film, TV and music content is now available via the following streaming services:
- BFI Player for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Selected British and European independent cinema, updated monthly. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email address, then create a personal account. Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).
- ROB (Roehampton Online Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.