Physiotherapy: Key Journals and Databases

Index of allied health and complementary (or “alternative”) medicine, including nursing, physiotherapy, speech & language, occupational and sports therapy. 

Biological Abstracts, Reports, Reviews, Meetings

Full text coverage of nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and physiotherapy.

A collection of databases providing up-to-date, high-quality, independent evidence (such as systematic reviews) to inform healthcare decision-making.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.

An open access database from the University of Sydney, providing an index to randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Thousands of scientific, technical and medical journals from the publisher Elsevier. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database, so some items may be unavailable.

Includes full-text access to over 400 sport-related journals.

Database comprising Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities citation indexes.

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources (including over 1500 journals published by Wiley) covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Video version of Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, with 230 videos, plus clinical reasoning content.

Sport, physical activity and dance eBooks, also includes a suite of instructional videos, images and audio clips.

3D human anatomy visualisation tool containing: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. Available both as a desktop version and an App. First time users will need to set up a personal account (free).

Selected British and European independent cinema, updated monthly. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email address, then create a personal account. Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings. 

Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).

Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.