- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary academic literature database.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Details of all historical documents relating to the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55BC to the present.
- Open Library of Humanities (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Covers: classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
- Oxford Journals Archive This link opens in a new window
Contents of 142 Oxford University Press Journals from their first issue to 1995.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Academic literature in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database. You can filter your results by selecting the Access option “Only content I have access to.” See our Spotlight on Project Muse.
Digital collections of historical material, including newspapers, pamphlets, theatre playbills, and other ephemera. Also known as "primary sources", these can provide rich sources for research.
Read more about these resources in our Spotlight on Primary Sources blog post.
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The British Library’s archives of searchable facsimiles of regional and national newspapers from the 19th century.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
The US Library of Congress open access digital collection of historical American newspapers.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of millions of pages of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of newspapers, magazines, books and ephemera from the 17th to 20th centuries, including archives of the Illustrated London News, the Listener, Times & TLS.
- John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
Archive of printed ephemera covering everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering British politics, society, and culture, including theatre, music and literature.
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Access to close to 100 periodicals for the study of British life in the 19th century - from women to sports and leisure, and from children to humour.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
The Library holds a legacy collection of DVDs (with viewing facilities) in the Audiovisual Collection on the Third Floor.
However, most film, TV, image and music content is now available via the following online platforms and streaming services:
- BFI Player for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Selected British and European independent cinema, updated monthly. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email address, then create a personal account. Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).
- ROB (Roehampton Online Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.
Image sources:
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over 2 million high quality images, rights-cleared for use in education and research, in 300 curated collections.
- VADS: Visual Arts Data Service (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 images from over 300 art collections, free for educational use.