Search these specialist indexes of current academic literature for articles and research papers for your assignments.
- ProQuest One Literature (formerly Literature Online) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to full text journals, dissertations, eBooks, primary works, video and reference works from all over the world, including the ProQuest Black Writing Collection, and the World Literature Collection.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiles literary commentary from newspapers, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, periodicals and more.
- Children's Literature Review (part of Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Children's Literature Review is available for volumes 98 (2005) to 202 (2016).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and eBooks in arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the eBook content in this database. You can filter your results by Access on the left hand menu and selecting “content I can access.”
- Open Library of Humanities (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Covers: classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic literature in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database. You can filter your results by selecting the Access option “Only content I have access to.” See our Spotlight on Project Muse.
Below are some digital collections of historical material, including newspapers, pamphlets, theatre playbills, and other ephemera. Also known as "primary sources", these can provide rich sources of inspiration and research.
Read more about these resources in our Spotlight on Primary Sources blog post.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable platform of eight databases containing digital reproductions of newspapers, periodicals, books and ephemera from the 17th to 20th centuries, including archives of the Illustrated London News, the Listener, Times & Times Literary Supplement (TLS).
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The British Library’s archives of searchable facsimiles of regional and national newspapers from the 19th century.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of millions of pages of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of printed ephemera covering everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering British politics, society, and culture, including theatre, music and literature.
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to close to 100 periodicals for the study of British life in the 19th century - from women to sports and leisure, and from children to humour.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- REED Online: Records of Early English Drama (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Search the surviving records of drama, secular music, and other popular entertainment in England from the Middle Ages until 1642, when the Puritans closed the London theatres.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Times newspaper in facsimile from 1785 - 2019.
- TLS Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902-2013.