Search these specialist databases to find up to date academic research papers in your topic.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD) This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, articles and dissertations on all aspects of the performing arts.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary academic literature database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals and eBooks in arts, humanities, social sciences and life sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the eBook content in this database. You can filter your results by Access on the left hand menu and selecting “content I can access.”
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Academic literature in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database. You can filter your results by selecting the Access option “Only content I have access to.” See our Spotlight on Project Muse.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and physiotherapy. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.
- SportDiscus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to over 400 sport-related journals.
Print journals
Most of our journals are online, accessible via the Journals finder on the Library homepage, but we have a few current print subscriptions too.
The most recent issues (from the current/previous year) are on the ground floor, older issues on 2nd floor, shelved A-Z by title.
|
Animated: magazine of the Foundation for Community Dance |
|
Ballet review |
|
Ballettanz, das Jahrbuch |
|
Dance Europe |
|
Dance gazette |
|
Dance magazine |
|
Dance Research (print to 2014; also online) |
|
Dance Theatre Journal (to 2008) |
|
Dance UK news (Renamed One Dance UK from 2017) |
|
Dancing times |
|
Etnofoor (Anthropology) |
|
Movement, dance & drama |
|
Moving on : Dance Therapy Association of Australia quarterly |
|
Nordic journal of dance : practice, education and research |
|
One Dance UK (formerly Dance UK News to 2016) |
|
Pulse: Asian music and dance (formerly Ex-Tradition) |
|
Sruti : India's premier music and dance magazine |
|
Tanz : Zeitschrift fur Ballett, Tanz und Performance |
Film and TV streaming services you can access free with your Roehampton login.
- BFI Player for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Selected British and European independent cinema, updated monthly. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email address, then create a personal account. Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Watch the most influential 20th century choreographers, companies and dancers. Incudes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, and experimental; from Cunningham to Limon, Dance Theatre of Harlem to DV8 Physical Theatre.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).
- ROB (Roehampton Online Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.
- Theatre Performance and Design Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of performance videos, audio recordings, and production designs (from sound and lights to sets and costumes).
Sounds and Music:
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A music database containing over 2 million tracks, from classical and opera to jazz, blues, film scores and world music. All available straight to your phone via the NML app. Spotlight on Naxos blog post.
- British Library Sounds (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The BL's global recordings archive, including music, drama, literature, oral history, languages and dialects, wildlife, and birdsong.
Art and image sources:
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over 2 million high quality images, rights-cleared for use in education and research, in 300 curated collections.
- Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D human anatomy visualisation tool containing: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. A mobile App version is also available. First time users will need to set up a personal account (free).
- Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
Sport, physical activity and dance eBooks, also includes a suite of instructional videos, images and audio clips.