Construction (Built Environment): Key Journals and Databases

ARUP is a global collective of designers, engineers and technical experts, that use imagination, technology and rigour to shape a more sustainable world.

eBooks, journals, regulations, standards, technical advice, project management tools, and industry news from the UK and Republic of Ireland. NOTE: First time users need to register for a personal account (free).

DETAIL Magazine's database of international architectural design and technology. Includes design drawings and photographs, searchable by location, building type, materials and more.

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, renewable energy, recycling. 

The IEEE Electronic Library contains millions of journal articles and conference papers in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science, dating from 1936 to the present, as well as thousands of IEEE standards in key technology fields.

Open access journals from the Institute of Engineering and Technology.

Thousands of scientific, technical and medical journals from the publisher Elsevier. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database, so some items may be unavailable.

A collection of over 2,500 journals; full text coverage dates back to 1997. Problems logging in off campus? See our tutorial.
NOTE: We do not subscribe to all the content in this database. To see only content you can access, un-tick the option “Include Preview-Only content”. 

Database comprising Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities citation indexes.

eBooks, journals, regulations, standards, technical advice, project management tools, and industry news from the UK and Republic of Ireland. NOTE: First time users need to register for a personal account (free).

Maps and geospatial data from national data providers such as Ordnance Survey and British Geological Survey, for use with software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap. Registration required: see ‘? Help using this resource’ icon, above.

The UK's largest collection of architecture images and drawings, covering various styles, periods and themes.

DETAIL Magazine's database of international architectural design and technology. Includes design drawings and photographs, searchable by location, building type, materials and more.

Access to digitised books, music, and artworks from Europe's museums, libraries, and archives.

Over 140,000 images from over 300 art collections, free for educational use.

Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).

Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.

Selected British and European independent cinema, updated monthly. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email address, then create a personal account. Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings.