Biosciences: Key Journals and Databases

Articles that analyse and synthesise current research in all scientific disciplines. 

Biological Abstracts, Reports, Reviews, Meetings

Full text coverage of nursing and allied health literature, including biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and physiotherapy. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.

Premium nursing and allied health journals database, ideal for practice, research, or education. Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.

Index of over 1.5 million journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations in all aspects of psychology from 1887 to the present.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Check out our Spotlight on Nursing and Healthcare Resources blog post.

Philosophical Transactions, Proceedings and other journals of the Royal Society of London relating to Biological Sciences. Coverage is 2014-2022 only; for later issues, please request articles via Interlibrary loan.

Over 500 full text journals covering arts, social sciences (especially media studies), humanities and life sciences.

Thousands of scientific, technical and medical journals from the publisher Elsevier. NOTE: We do not subscribe to all of the content in this database, so some items may be unavailable.

Includes full-text access to over 400 sport-related journals.

A database of more than 29,000 life sciences protocols mostly taken from the classic book series "Methods in Molecular Biology". Note: When you try and view an item, click on the right-hand side “institutional log-in”, search for and select “University of Roehampton”.

Database comprising Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities citation indexes.

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources (including over 1500 journals published by Wiley) covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Video version of Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, with 230 videos, plus clinical reasoning content. The QR code for the app version is available once you have logged in.

Sport, physical activity and dance eBooks, also includes a suite of instructional videos, images and audio clips.

3D human anatomy visualisation tool containing: Human Anatomy Atlas, Physiology & Pathology and Muscle Premium. A mobile App version is also available. First time users will need to set up a personal account (free).

British and European independent cinema. Access Note: log in with your Roehampton email, then create a personal account (to resubscribe each year: scroll down to 'Already have an account? Sign in'). Licensed for personal or class viewing, but not for public screenings. 

Streams thousands of films, documentaries and training videos across a wide range of subjects. Note: Click 'Log in to Roehampton' on the left side of the screen to gain access. Please note: BBC programmes may be available via Roehampton Online Broadcasts (ROB).

Record and stream freeview TV and radio programmes for educational use, create clips and playlists, and access the archive of recorded programmes including BBC and Shakespeare Archives. ROB is managed by AVR, for assistance contact: avr@roehampton.ac.uk.